Projects

If you have a project, or are interested in starting a project, we would be happy to help you. We can give you feedback, give you ideas, help you analyze your project idea in a framework of effective altruism, help you find funding, connect you with other people interested in these ideas, etc. It’s also possible to join an existing project, as well as volunteer or do an internship with Effective Altruism Québec. Contact us with any inquiry.


Open Projects


Effective Altruism Montréal

Effective Altruism Montréal is a group supporting the community in Montréal. If you are interested in organizing events - presentation, reading group, social activity, etc. - write email us. It is also always a pleasure to meet you 1 on 1 to answer your questions about effective altruism. Join the discussion on our Facebook group or our Meetup group.

Recommendation for a $1M dollar donation

Two anonymous donors plan to donate 1 million Canadian dollars starting around 2020. They are looking for volunteers to suggest an effective non-profit organization. They are interested in finding an organization that reduces human misery as much as possible, with a focus on potentially transformative interventions: empowering people to improve their lives in a sustainable way.

Course on rationality

We know an International Baccalaureate teacher interested in presenting content about human rationality in one of zir classes. We are looking for volunteers who can help, for example, by suggesting, creating and / or structuring content for the course.

Reading group on AI safety

There has already been a reading group on AI safety at Mila and McGill, but these groups are currently inactive. However, there are still many people interested in joining such a group. Whatever your level of expertise and your main area of interest is, we would like to know if you’d be interested in participating to such a group. We have a Google group called Montreal AI Safety for people interested in reading on the Intelligent Agent Foundations.

AI Safety Unconference

The AI Safety Unconference brings together people interested in AI safety for an afternoon of participant-driven moderated discussions. The focus of the event being to maximize valuable social time, supported by a minimal structure. Discussion groups will self-assemble to cover multiple topics and intersections of the field — from specific technical AI safety problems to longer-term governance issues. Check out their website.

Effective Altruism in French

Most of the content on effective altruism is in English. However, there are some efforts to help localize effective altruism in French. We are looking for people interested in contributing to the glossary of concepts related to rationality and effective altruism, the aggregation and curation of recommended resources on effective altruism and rationality, or the effort of translating content on the effective altruism.


Supported Projects


Effective Altruists at McGill

This group has been runned by many organizers since 2015. It is now looking for organizers to take over. Reach out to Noga if interested. You can see their Facebook page, Facebook group, and website.

Montreal AI Ethics

The Montreal AI Ethics community has a lot of events around short and long term issues related to AI ethics and safety. Check out their Meetup group and website.

The Malassezia Project

Martin Laurence has been doing and found research on the fungus Malassezia for 7 years. He has a lead that might cure Crohn’s disease, spondyloarthritis, multiple sclerosis, prostate cancer and potentially other diseases. For more information, check out Laurence et al 2018> and this effective altruism forum post.

Macroscope

The Macroscope is an intentional community where people interested by rationality and effective altruism live. They host several events from those communities. The collective also support projects like the wall of donations and the Macroscope library. For more information, refer to their website.

Local Soup

Local Soup is a monthly event of participatory democracy and discovery of local initiatives. For a minimum of $ 5, you get a soup meal and a vote. Four local projects are presented, followed by discussions. The evening ends with a vote that determines which project receives the money raised.


Projects Ideas


Student Group for Effective Altruists at Université de Montréal

The group has a Facebook page and a Facebook group, and has had a few meetings, but has never actually taken off. If you’re interested in getting involved, we can support you and put you in touch with other interested people.

Group for Effective Altruists in Québec City

The group has a Facebook page and a Facebook group. There was a big event in August 2017, but otherwise the group remained inactive. If you’re interested in getting involved, we can support you and put you in touch with other interested people.

Group for Effective Altruists in your City or University

In general, we believe that education on issues of effective altruism can have a large positive impact. We would be interested in helping you to make an event (or other project) at your university or city. We have been to Sherbrooke and Québec City in 2017, but would return with pleasure.

Projets

Si vous avez un projet, ou êtes intéressé-e-s à commencer un projet, il nous ferait plaisir de vous aider. Nous pouvons vous donner du feedback, vous donner des idées, vous aider à faire une analyse de votre idée de projet dans un cadre d’altruisme efficace, vous aider à trouver du financement, vous mettre en contact avec d’autres gens intéressés par ces idées, etc. Il est également possible de joindre un projet existant, ainsi que de faire du bénévolat ou un stage avec Altruisme Efficace Québec. Contactez-nous pour toutes questions.


Projets Ouverts


Altruisme Efficace Montréal

Altruisme efficace Montréal est un groupe supportant la communauté à Montréal. Si vous êtes intéressé-e-s à organiser des événements — présentation, groupe de lecture, activité sociale, etc. — écrivez-nous. Il nous fait également toujours plaisirs de vous rencontrer 1 à 1 pour répondre à vos questionnements par rapport à l’altruisme efficace. Rejoignez la discussion sur notre groupe Facebook ou notre groupe Meetup.

Recommendation pour don de 1M $

Deux donateur-euse-s anonymes ont l’intention de donner 1 million de dollars canadiens à partir d’environ 2020. Iels cherchent des bénévoles pour leur suggérer un ou des OSBL(s) efficace(s). Iels sont intéressé-e-s à trouver un organisme visant à réduire la misère humaine autant que possible, en mettant l’accent sur les interventions potentiellement transformatrices: habilitant les personnes à améliorer leur vie de manière durable.

Cours sur la rationalité

Nous connaissons une enseignante au Baccalauréat international intéressé à présenter du contenue sur la rationalité humaine dans un de ses cours. Nous cherchons des bénévoles pouvant aider, par exemple en suggérant, créant et/ou structurant du contenu pour le cours.

Groupe de lecture sur la sûreté de l’IA

Il y a déjà eu un groupe de lecture sur la sûreté de l’IA au Mila et à McGill, mais ces groupes sont présentement inactifs. Il y a tout de fois plusieurs personnes intéressées à joindre un tel groupe. Quelque soit votre niveau d’expertise et votre champs d’intérêt principal, nous vous signalons à nous faire part de votre intérêt. Nous avons un groupe Google nommée “Montreal AI Safety” pour les personnes intéressées par la recherche de l’“Intelligent Agent Foundations”.

Non-conférence sur la surêté en intelligence artificielle

La AI Safety Unconference rassemble les personnes intéressées par la sûreté de l’IA pour un après-midi de discussions modérées menées par les participants. L’objectif de l’événement est de maximiser le temps social précieux, soutenu par une structure minimale. Les groupes de discussion s’auto-assembleront pour couvrir de multiples sujets et intersections du domaine - des problèmes techniques spécifiques de surêté de l’IA aux problèmes de gouvernance à plus long terme. Consultez leur site web.

Altruisme Efficace en Français

La plupart du contenu sur l’altruisme efficace est en anglais. Il y a toutefois quelques efforts pour aider à la localisation du domaine en français. Nous cherchons des personnes intéressées à contribuer au glossaire de concepts reliés à la rationalité et l’altruisme efficace, à l’agrégation et curation de ressources à recommandé sur l’altruisme efficace et la rationalité, ou à l’effort de traduction de contenu sur l’altruisme efficace.


Projets Supportés


Altruisme Efficace McGill

Ce groupe a eu de nombreux-ses organisateur-ice-s depuis 2015. Il recherche maintenant des organisateur-ice-s pour prendre la relève. Contactez-les si vous êtes intéressé-e-s. Vous pouvez voir leur page Facebook, leur groupe Facebook et leur site web.

L’Éthique de l’IA à Montréal

Le groupe d’éthique de l’intelligence artificielle à Montréal organise plusieurs événements sur des problématiques à courts et longs termes reliées à l’éthique et la sûreté de l’intelligence artificielle. Regardez-leur groupe Meetup et site web.

Le Projet de Malassezia

Martin Laurent mène et finance des recherches sur le champignon de Malassezia depuis 7 ans. Il a trouvé une piste qui pourrait guérir la maladie de Crohn, les spondylarthrites, la sclérose en plaques, le cancer de la prostate et potentiellement d’autres maladies. Pour plus d’informations, consultez Laurence et al 2018 et cet article sur le forum d’altruisme efficace.

Macroscope

Le Macroscope est une communauté intentionnelle où des personnes intéressées par l’altruisme efficace et la rationalité y vivre. Plusieurs événements de ces communautés y sont organisés. La communauté supporte également des projets telles un mur de dons et une bibliothèque. Pour plus d’information, veuillez vous référer à leur site web.

Soupe Locale

Soupe Locale est un événement mensuel de démocratie participative et de découverte d’initiatives locales. Pour un minimum de 5 $, on obtient une soupe-repas et un vote. Quatre projets locaux sont présentés, suivis de discussions. La soirée se termine par un vote qui détermine quel projet recevra l’argent récolté.


Idées de Projets


Groupe étudiant d’altruistes efficaces à l’université de Montréal

Le groupe a une page Facebook et un groupe Facebook, et a eu quelques rencontres, mais n’a jamais réellement été en opération. Si vous êtes intéressé-e-s à vous impliquer, nous pouvons vous supporter et vous mettre en contact avec d’autres personnes intéressées.

Groupe d’altruistes efficaces à la ville de Québec

Le groupe a une page Facebook et un groupe Facebook. Il y a eu un gros événement en août 2017, mais autrement le groupe est resté inactif. Si vous êtes intéressé-e-s à vous impliquer, nous pouvons vous supporter et vous mettre en contact avec d’autres personnes intéressées.

Groupe d’altruistes efficaces dans votre ville ou université

En général, nous croyons que la sensibilisation à l’altruisme efficace peut avoir un grand impact positif. Nous serions donc intéressé-e-s à vous aider à réaliser un événement (ou autre projet) à votre université ou ville. Nous avons déjà été à Sherbrooke et Québec en 2017, mais y retournerions avec plaisirs.